2020 Pharmacist of the Year

Super Thrifty Drugs Canada Ltd wishes to congratulate Jennifer Ludwig, recipient of the 2020 Pharmacist of the Year. This award is given annually to a Manitoba pharmacist who has been chosen by their peers for outstanding contributions to the profession. College of Pharmacists of Manitoba presented Jennifer with her award at the recent virtual annual general meeting.


Jennifer graduated from the Faculty of Pharmacy at the University of Manitoba in 2005. Very early in her career, Jennifer’s ability of seeing the health needs in the community and responding to them lead her to help find solutions. She realized that some of her patients were unable to take commonly prescribed medication. In 2006 she completed advanced training in pharmaceutical compounding to assist those patients. She increased her knowledge in pain management, hormone replacement therapy and veterinary medicine. This specialized training lead her to bring to reality the only sterile compounding facility in Brandon and Westman.


In addition to her many contributions to pharmacy during her eight years serving on several boards with the College of Pharmacists, Jennifer is also involved in the community. She currently sits on the Brandon Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors. She has also volunteered with the Westman Dreams for Kids Advisory Committee as well as the Assiniboine Community College Foundation Board. In 2019 she was the nominee of the YMCA Women of Distinction Award for her contributions to the health and well-being of the community.


Jennifer’s exemplary dedication to her profession and community make her the ideal recipient of the 2020 Pharmacist of the Year Award.